Prestigious awards for the Institute for Electronics Engineering at the IEEE International Microwave Symposium (IMS) in San Francisco

The Institute for Electronics Engineering (LTE) received three prestigious awards at this year’s IEEE International Microwave Symposium in San Francisco, CA. The annual occurring symposium, with about 10.000 visitors, is the world’s largest and leading conference devoted to research, development and application of RF and microwave theory and techniques. After a competitive international selection process, the prizes of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) are presented on the International Microwave Symposium.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. habil. Robert Weigel, Chair of the Institute, was honored with the IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Educator Award “for outstanding contributions as a teacher, mentor, and role model for students in the microwave profession”. This award recognizes excellent education in the field of microwave engineering and science. Prof. Weigel is only the second German to receive the award, since it has been established in 1993.

MTTS_2016_DistinguishedEducatorAward_Weigel

Award ceremony: IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Educator Award for Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. habil. Robert Weigel

PD Dr.-Ing. habil. Alexander Kölpin, University lecturer at the Institute, was given an IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award „for outstanding early career contributions to the microwave profession”. The Outstanding Young Engineer Award recognizes a young member who has distinguished him/herself through achievements and exemplary service to the MTT-S.

MTTS_2016_YoungEngineerAward_Koelpin

Award ceremony: IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award for PD. Dr-Ing. Alexander Kölpin

Fabian Lurz, M.Sc., Ph.D. candidate at the Institute, was awarded with a MTT-S Graduate Fellowship “in recognition of academic achievement and excellence” for his research work on the topic of “Next Generation Ultra-Low-Power Radar Sensors and Systems”. This is the highest award that the IEEE MTT society gives annually to top graduate students.

MTTS_2016_GraduateFellowshipAward_Lurz

Award ceremony: IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowships for Fabian Lurz, M.Sc.

Photo by LylePhotos, Atlanta

Renommierte Auszeichnungen für den LTE auf dem IEEE International Microwave Symposium (IMS) in San Francisco

Auf dem diesjährigen IEEE International Microwave Symposium in San Francisco, Kalifornien, wurde der Lehrstuhl für Technische Elektronik (LTE) mit drei hochkarätigen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Das jährlich in den USA stattfindende Symposium ist mit ca. 10.000 Besuchern die weltweit größte und führende Konferenz, die sich mit Forschung, Entwicklung und Anwendung von Hochfrequenz- und Mikrowellentheorie befasst. Die Preise der IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) werden jährlich in einem internationalen Auswahlverfahren vergeben und auf dem International Microwave Symposium überreicht.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. habil. Robert Weigel, Lehrstuhlinhaber des LTE, wurde mit dem IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Educator Award “for outstanding contributions as a teacher, mentor, and role model for students in the microwave profession” geehrt. Diese Auszeichnung würdigt insbesondere hervorragende Ausbildung im Bereich der Hochfrequenz- und Mikrowellentechnik. Prof. Weigel ist erst der zweite deutsche Preisträger, seit die Auszeichnung im Jahr 1993 eingeführt wurde.

MTTS_2016_DistinguishedEducatorAward_Weigel

Verleihung des IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Educator Award an Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. habil. Robert Weigel

PD Dr.-Ing. habil. Alexander Kölpin, Privatdozent am LTE, wurde mit dem IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award „for outstanding early career contributions to the microwave profession” ausgezeichnet. Mit diesem Preis werden junge Mitglieder geehrt, die sich durch besondere Errungenschaften und beispielhafte Arbeit in der Society hervorgetan haben.

MTTS_2016_YoungEngineerAward_Koelpin

Verleihung des IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award an PD. Dr-Ing. Alexander Kölpin

Fabian Lurz, M.Sc., wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am LTE, wurde ein MTT-S Graduate Fellowship Award „in recognition of academic achievement and excellence” für seine Forschungsarbeiten zum Thema „Next Generation Ultra-Low-Power Radar Sensors and Systems“ verliehen. Das MTT-S Graduate Fellowship ist die höchste Auszeichnung, die von der IEEE MTT Society jährlich an herausragende Graduate Students (inkl. Doktoranden) vergeben wird.

MTTS_2016_GraduateFellowshipAward_Lurz

Verleihung des IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowships an Fabian Lurz, M.Sc.

Photo by LylePhotos, Atlanta